Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick The Baby Store Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Size: 3-Pack|Color: Transparent|Change
Price:$3.34+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 23, 2010
Size: 3-Pack|Color: Transparent|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For comparison purposes, I posted a photograph comparing Scotch Gift Wrap Tape, their cellophane tape (shiny) and their Magic Tape. The photo contains a sample of the three styles of tape applied to three different styles of gift wrap -- red foil, brown packing paper (for those wrapping with a less processed product,) and a patterned (non-foil) gift wrap.

Perhaps not surprising, the shiny Scotch tape looks best on the foil but the Gift Wrap tape is a better choice for both the brown packing paper and patterned non-foil gift wrap. The Magic Tape had the most unattractive appearance on all three products.

The Gift Wrap tape is very sturdy, so sturdy that sometimes it is reluctant to tear across the serrated edge of the plastic dispenser. Rolls inserted into a weighted dispenser would resolve that issue. That issue aside, I will definitely be buying more of this tape and using it for wrapping on all but foil paper, where I will continue to use the shiny tape.
review image
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 4, 2010
Size: 3-Pack|Color: Transparent|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
You are a person who cares about details. The normal Scotch® Magic(TM) Tape is fine for the hoi polloi. "Invisible tape" they call it, the deluded fools. But you can see its flaws, how it holds an air bubble, how it calls attention to itself with an ugly matte finish that makes anything below it look slightly washed out, faded like a painting left too long in a sunny room.

You are a person who notices details. When you are wrapping a gift -- with wrapping paper that folds just so, without little crinkles -- when you are wrapping a gift you want the smooth lover's touch of satin against your fingers, a shiny surface that light will caress into a soft shine. It calls attention to itself only when the light walks ups to it, makes a graceful bow, and asks it to dance.

You are a person who pays attention to details. You like that this tape is determined "Photo Safe" according to the rigorous ISO Standard 14523. You won't be seeing your fingerprints outlined in dirt and grease, trapped like some ancient insect in amber. Yes, you might be frustrated that the dispenser leaves tiny lines where the tape meets the ledge with the jagged teeth and where it pulls out and away from the tight, perfect coil which 3M has so brilliantly engineered. But you'll figure out this can be managed with skillful snips from a sharp set of scissors.

The details are important to you. Is it Scotch® GiftWrap Tape or Scotch® Giftwrap Tape? The packaging says both. Perhaps 3M should hire you to proofread the names of their products, you think to yourself, with a congratulatory inner voice. You wouldn't let a detail like that slip by.
1111 comments|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 7, 2010
Size: 3-Pack|Color: Transparent|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I give the tape itself 5 stars -it is fantastic, and is really the best tape to use on wrapping paper, because it does a great job of disappearing. It is MUCH better, in fact, than the typical Scotch tape which can be removed and reused if not put on correctly --and which is not fully see through. Though that tape also does a great job when used for wrapping, the Satin Finish tape is better.

The only problem I had is that I was really surprised at how little tape came on each of these three rolls; it was ridiculous. I had a "regular" single roll of Scotch Satin Tape and the tape on THAT roll was at LEAST three times the diameter of the tape on each of these 3-pack rolls. So, the bottom line is that these three rolls of tape seem to have less tape than a single roll of the regular sized Scotch Satin Tape. Basically if you like to have more rolls of tape lying around (for example, useful if other people are helping you wrap) AND the three rolls are cheaper, together, than a single roll, then go for the three rolls. If, however, you like having less clutter, less wasting of resources (more plastic going into the garbage), and NOT running out of tape in the middle of wrapping, go for the single roll. (The single roll also has the advantage of having a stronger case -and is sealed on both the front and the back.

You can't go wrong with the quality of this product, just with the amount of waste, and the amount of tape you get for your money.

Recommended as a single roll. Not recommended as a three pack unless multiple people are wrapping at the same time.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
Size: 3-Pack|Color: Transparent|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Scotch Gift tape is a great product for its intended purpose - wrapping gifts. The tape is much less noticeable on typical gift wrap than either Scotch Magic Tape (which is a bit too matte for this purpose) or shiny generic tapes.

But I have to mark down this particular product down because the amount of product given is so stingy. Each roll only has 300 inches of tape - compare this to a a Scotch Magic Tape refill that I had sitting in my cabinet that was 1296 inches long. And I dislike the fact that the product description on Amazon says nothing about how much tape is included, so you won't realize the issue until you get your order.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I discovered this tape by accident years ago. I was at Target shopping for tape and I come across "gift wrap" tape. I thought, "Gift wrap tape? Really? Another form of tape—specifically for gift wrapping?" I bought it anyway as I like to try interesting new products. Let me tell you, this is one of Scotch's best tapes.

The main reason it's the best is because of the satin "gift wrap" finish. The satin finish makes the tape look invisible on gift wrapping paper. Before this, I thought their Transparent Tape was the best. It has now been surpassed.

An alternative use to this (and my main reason for using this) is taping down the spines of paperback books. I have taped all my books and they all look like new in my book shelves, at least from only looking at the spines. If you clean your spine and put this tape on, it applies cleanly without air bubbles (if you maintain a clean environment). Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
In a pinch, any tape will finish off a wrapped gift, but some wash out the bright colors of the paper while looking unflatteringly dull. There's a tape for that. Better yet, it comes in a multi-pack, so everyone can have their own (or you can afford to misplace a few, as will happen with wrapping presents). This Scotch tape has a satin shine to complement wrapping paper. It is so clear that it can show your fingerprints, if you aren't careful. The tape is 3/4 in. wide to assure that it keeps its hold for those days or weeks before the gift is received. Each ergonomically-designed dispenser contains 300 in. of tape for a total of 900 in. After using this product exclusively on my 2014 presents, both foil and paper wrapped, I am very pleased with the purchase of this value pack. It is so nice to get everything on Amazon - my bows, my tape, and even my tissue paper!

Were you looking for the matte-finish office tape by Scotch?
Scotch Magic Tape, 1/2 x 450 Inches (104)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Not really sure how much you can say about tape. This one's transparent with a slightly matte texture, as opposed to the typical glossy transparent tape.

I use this mostly on brown kraft wrapping paper and prefer it to the magic tape. It doesn't vanish completely, but it's the closest you can get with kraft paper. It does vanish on standard gift wrap.

My only gripe is that Scotch doesn't make larger rolls of this tape. You always have to buy it in this tiny dispenser, which is both uneconomical and wasteful. Only 300 inches per roll/dispenser, which is less than 1/3 as much tape as the magic tape rolls. The bulk packs (I bought a set of 18) are a better deal than you'll find in most stores, but still very wasteful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
this isn't like the regular office tape. seems more transparent and a slightly stickier glue on it. i was pleasantly surprised by the difference in tape. i had originally bought it just for the little recyclable dispensers because at gift wrapping time it seems we can never find where the tape got moved to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
These are better than regular scotch tape (which is already good). These stick well but peels off easily. They do NOT peel off themselves, only when you unpeel them. I use it to tape eBay domestic and international shipping labels. Works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
I'm very happy I found this on Amazon. This is the best general purpose tape I've encountered. It is attractive, tough, sticks tightly. It doesn't come off easily, so if you want removable you'll have to use Scotch Magic. The glue isn't as gooey as duct tape, so there isn't as much residue when you do remove the tape.

I've found these rolls last a long time because you need small strips to hold most things in place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.