Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Eric Clapton Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2007
On November 21st, 2006, 20th Century Fox released Home Alone - Family Fun Edition. This DVD edition is the long awaited special edition to one of cinemas most adored Christmas films. This edition offers a hefty amount of extra goodies...such as over 30 minutes of deleted scenes, on the set featurettes, new interviews, and a brand new commentary track featuring director Chris Columbus & Macaulay Culkin. I have to say unlike most commentary tracks, this one is actully very informative and very fun. Macaulay and Chris seem to have so much fun watching the film. This edition like the first one is presented in its original theatrical aspect ratio of 1.85:1. I read somewhere that the video and audio is updated too, I cannot confirm if it is or not but I read that. If you own the previous edition of this film, it is definately worth your money to update to this. The special features alone warrant a double dip. Also for the hold outs not wanting to buy the film til it got a special edition, well here it is. I would recommend this edition to anyone wanting to own this classic film on DVD.
44 comments|195 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2006
Finally Fox studios came to their senses to re-release a childhood classic. Now this re-release does have a substanial amount of bonus features including 4 behind the scenes feature, deleted scenes, 3 trailers, and some trivia games but the icing on the cake is the Christopher Columbus and Macaulay Culkin Commentary. Its good to know that Macaulay Culkin being the highest paid child star back then in the early 90's and still to this date, he is humble enough to go back to his childhood memories. Deff worth the upgrade if you own the previous release..a true classic...
22 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2005
This movie was a favorite amongst many when it first came out in 1990, and more than a decade later, this movie *still* remains a classic, and will continue to be a classic for many more years to come.

The story is simple, really: young Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) is the underdog of the family; always getting picked on by his older siblings, and feeling like an outcast. One day, he gets into it with his older brother, and Kevin ends up being punished. During his punishment, he wishes that he could spend a christmas by himself without any of his family members. Wouldn't you know it - due to his family's carelessness, they accidently leave Kevin home on their way to the airport (to fly to Paris for Christmas vacation.)

And from there, the fun begins. While Kevin is home by himself, two bumbling, nincompoop burglars (played by Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) known as the "Wet Bandits," set their sites on Kevin's house. When Kevin figures this out, he sets the house up with all sorts of tricks and traps, to out-maneuver these two clowns. And it's *hilarious* (listening to Daniel Stern's agonized wails -- as if he were castrated -- leaves me gasping for breath!) Anytime I watch this movie, these scenes in general have a way of bringing out the devilishly-maniacal, mischievous kid in me (and no doubt, many other viewers as well.) Of course, the movie isn't all about brash, goofy slapstick; there are some moving moments scattered throughout the film (particularly when Kevin befriends an old man - who is feared throughout the neighborhood - who teaches Kevin a few things about life, as well as receiving a little bit of advice from young Kevin along the way.)

Home Alone, Home Alone 2, and National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation are the Christmas comedies I find myself coming back to most. Indeed, all three of these films are classics that should be watched around the holidays, or *any* time of the year, for some non-stop entertainment & laughs, as well as some heartwarming sentiment beneath it all.
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2007
The first edition of this dvd was ok but lacked in the special features area and dvd quality. Thankfully the Family Fun edition has been released and the quality is excellent. This new edition has 5.1 sound and the picture quality is so much more crisper. This dvd is loaded with special features. It's hard to believe that Home Alone came out more than 16 years ago and has stood the test of time and is destined to be a holiday classic. Great fun movie...
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2014
Tells the hilarious tale of family togetherness and chaos that often surrounds the holidays and the tale of the young who accidentally gets left behind as the rest of the family boards a plan for a Christmas holiday in Europe. The young lad comes up with ingenious ways to protect himself from two bungling thieves who target the homes of the wealthy while away during the holidays. It also touches on the hurtfulness that can be caused by prejudging others before you are given an opportunity to get to really know others.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Fun. I doubt there is anyone who hasn't already seen this movie, but I had managed to avoid it most of my life. My husband suggested we watch it at Christmastime and it was a good movie to watch during the holidays. I wouldn't watch it again, but it was a fine way to kill a couple hours.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
I rented this movie for my young grandchildren. I have seen the movie a couple of times and wanted to see their reaction to it. I find this story really funny and rather endearing! Macaulay Culkin is inadvertently left behind in his upscale neighborhood when his family leaves to go on a Christmas vacation overseas...someone messed up the head count of the many, many relatives staying at his house. The night before, this young character is sent to sleep up in the room in the attic as a form of punishment for something he did. In the morning, everyone is in a hurry and forgets him. This is a kid who really didn't have many responsibilities before, but being on his own he learns to shop for groceries, set up a Christmas tree, and pretty much just take care of himself. A robber, disguised as a policeman, cases out the house and returns when he believes the house is empty. Let's just say they don't have an easy time of it due to the kid who was left Home Alone! It's a hilarious adventure for children and adults alike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
This is a funny movie that is pretty good for the whole family. Some of the language is a bit rough for little kids, but my 7 year old still loved it. She nearly busted a gut laughing at the pizza delivery scene where the boy plays audio from a gangster movie while the delivery guy is outside the door.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
hello,
we have not seen this movie for several years. it always amazes us how funny it is. the main character is a smart little boy with lots of stuff to ward off bumbling home invaders. the cast is hilarious and the situations speak for themselves. christmas time portrayed in the movie hits home to millions, but the movie just makes you laugh and enjoy the holiday season. lighten up everyone, it is christmas...yrmv
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
This movie is a great choice for a Christmas family movie night when your kids are too old for or are bored with the little kid (under third grade) Christmas specials but still are young enough to want to see a Christmas special. It's a classic tale from the 1980's of a busy family going on a big multi-family trip but they manage to leave behind one child, Kevin. He ends up home alone and actually having to fight off some burglars! The kids will love the slap stick comedy, Kevin's adventures as he shops, cooks, goes to church and defends his house using toys and various contraptions. Older kids will appreciate the story line of the seemingly spooky older neighbor. I didn't remember it as being as charming as it was! (I just remembered the part where he puts his hands up to his cheeks and says "Ahhh!" and thought it was stupid. Watched it as an adult and really liked it. So did my kids!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.