Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc A. Sinclair Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$10.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2003
I loved this movie. It was totally bonkers: a human baby accidently ends up on the north pole and grows up among the elf community that supports Santa Claus. Buddy, as he comes to be known, knows that he's "special" however, since he can't keep up with the other elves. Never mind the fact that he's about three times as tall as any of them and barely fits in the shower.
When he's 30, and still young by Elf standards, he learns that he's really a human. Buddy decides to go in search of his father (who's on Santa's naughty list), to find out where he belongs. He walks to New York (through the Lincoln tunnel), and is immediately run over by a cab. The chain of events starts at that moment ...
Buddy is a delightful and enchanting character with many special talents and a childish personality. He is naive to the point of stupidity, but charming all the while. His lovable demeanour gains him friends in spite of his clumsy efforts. He is sweet, kind and generous. When his father at first rejects him, Buddy ends up in a department store where other elves (people who pretend to be Santa's elves) are working, and stays up all night to decorate the place. When the department store Santa isn't the real Santa, well, you can guess what happens ...
Buddy eats spaghetti covered in syrup, smarties and pop tarts; he gets drunk in the mail room of his father's office and his young half-brother shows him to ask a girl out on a date.
But all the while, things are looking bad for Santa Claus (and also Buddy's father). How will Buddy rescue the day? When Santa crashes his sleigh in Central Park, it's Buddy's moment to shine.
Abstract, enchanting, child-like madness all make up this beautiful movie. Absolutely delightful and recommended to viewers of all ages. If you want a Christmas feel-good movie, this is it.
44 comments|132 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2004
I rarely go see movies twice, but after taking my four children, I treated my parents and watched it again! You fall in love with Buddy, you just can't help it! Will Ferrell is not the kooky nut in this one as in most of his movies, he truly shows the innocent, sweetness of Buddy the elf. Full of laughs, and not as predictable as you might think. I just can't wait until it is released to purchase. I will own this one, please note that after viewing you will need to decorate your house for Christmas immediately !! :)
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2004
Elf will land a spot alongside The Grinch (cartoon), Charlie Brown & A Christmas Story in my holiday video library! Will Farrell was hilarious & touching as the ever-cheerful,naive and polite Buddy. Bob Newhart, deadpan & stuttering as ever, was the perfect Papa Elf. The rest of the cast were ideal picks. A nice movie & a clever story. I needed a "feel-gooder" the day I watched it, and I wasn't disappointed.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In this delightful new holiday movie, Will Ferrell is an innocent named Buddy who was adopted as a baby by Santa and his elves. Having been raised in the North Pole, Buddy has no idea that he is human. However, when he grows up to be a six-footer, he begins to notice that he is physically different from his fellow elves. Much to his chagrin, Buddy's skills as a toymaker are a bit substandard. Finally, Papa Elf sends his ingenuous son to New York City to meet his biological father, played by the gruff James Caan.
This is the classic "fish out of water" plot that has been used in countless movies. How will Buddy, conspicuous in his green and yellow elf costume, with a pointy hat and pointy shoes, behave in New York City? How will Buddy's no-nonsense dad handle the fact that he has fathered a man who thinks he's an elf?
Predictably, Buddy, in his sweet innocence, has trouble adjusting to life in the big city. He wreaks havoc in a department store, exasperates his father, and soon feels lonely and unwanted. All of this works because the actors, including such seasoned veterans as Bob Newhart and Ed Asner, play it absolutely straight. Fortunately, there are only a few of the cloying scenes that often make holiday movies so difficult to take.
Hats off to the director and the special effects crew for delivering some hilarious sight gags and some cool and magical moments. Go see "Elf" with your kids. It is not great cinema, but I think that you will find this movie engaging and amusing holiday entertainment.
0Comment|81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
Elf is an unusual movie in this day and age. It is not manipulative and speaks of simple values and simple, true love. I went to see it with my 10-year old, a 28-year old, and a 38-year old (I am 47). We all laughed and cried and came out of the movie amazed that such a simple movie could be so much fun and say so much.
Anytime you have a movie in which the main character is totally innocent and naive, it brings up how calloused and hardened we have all become to the things in life that matter. That's the message of this movie. I highly recommend it and am adding it to my Holiday DVD collection - you can bet we'll watch it every year and some inbetween!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2004
Elf is a great holiday film driven by an inspired and truly enthusiastic performance by Will Ferrell. Elf is also family friendly as it doesn't sink down to toilet humor (at least not often). I find it refreshing to see a comedy derive laughs by being witty or at least wacky instead of how many fart or sex jokes one can cram in a movie. The writers and directors stay committed to the character of Buddy the Elf and never lets the story drift away from Buddy's world. The movie also has strong and convincing performances from all the supporting actors which definitely adds an air of gravity to the over the top zealousness that Will Ferrell brings to the screen.

I can say with confidence that Elf will be an annual holiday watch. It may not be as deep in message as some of the Christmas movie legends like A Christmas Carol but it contains that one attribute that all Christmas movie greats share, a true belief in the Christmas Spirit.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
Amazon provides no details as to what comes in the 10th Anniversary edition. For anyone interested, it comes with the same exact Blu-Ray disk found in the regular Elf Blu-Ray; no differing aspect ratio or picture quality differences, even uses the same picture on the front of the disk as found on the original. A DVD version which includes tons of special features, an Ultraviolet Download code, and lastly a CD containing a 5 song sampling of the Elf Movie Soundtrack. Why the whole soundtrack isn't included in the 10th anniversary edition is beyond me. Blu-ray and Dvd is encased in a nice steelbook.
This was an easy buy for me since I'm a huge Elf fan and didn't have the movie on Blu-Ray. Those who wish to simply have a copy of the Elf and nothing more, stick with the original DVD/Blu-Ray.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 12, 2013
Elf is a family favorite, and now a classic Christmas film. It is hard to believe the film is ten years old. We love this film.

I finally lost my copy of the DVD. There are several editions of this movie - the regular old DVD, the single Disc Blu-Ray, and the 2 disc Blu-Ray, or anniversary edition. For a few dollars more I decided to buy the anniversary edition.

It was impossible to figure out what is included in that edition. Now that it has arrived, here are the contents - 1 Blu-Ray, 1 DVD, 1 CD, and 1 Ultraviolet code:
The standard Blu-Ray disc that includes only the movie.
The Infinifilm DVD, original release. This is a strange beast that New Line Cinema quit doing some time ago. The film is about a quarter of the DVD, the rest is special features. I think there are three times the hours of special features as the film. Nobody in their right mind should watch all this.
The bonus is a CD "sampler" of the soundtrack:
1. Pennies from Heaven - Louis Prima
2. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town - Eddy Arnold
3. Santa Baby - Eartha Kitt
4. Nutcracker Suite - Les Brown and His Band of Renown
5. Santa Claus Party - Les Baxter

Yeah I know, the sampler is not exactly what I was hoping for. Nope, the key songs aren't there - No Baby It's Cold Outside (Will Farrell, Zooey Deschanel, and Leon Redbone); Auld Langs Syne (James Caan and Zooey Deschanel); and Santa Claus is Coming to Town (Zooey Deschanel, Mary Steenburgen, Daniel Tay, James Caan, and Chorus). Yes, they do call this a soundtrack sampler.
This is the full soundtrack:
Elf: Music From The Major Motion Picture

The digital "download" is via Ultraviolet. Not exactly the best service in the universe, but it works. You can stream the movie to a ton of devices, or you can download the film up to four times to a device. No bonus features are available digitally.

The DVD and Blu-Ray discs and the download code are in a metal Blu-Ray container that is pretty nice. In fact the case looks really good. The CD sampler was attached with that sticky clear goo, like somebody decided to whip this together at the last minute.

If you need both the Blu-Ray and DVD, this is the version to purchase. There isn't really anything deluxe or new about this release. They put the two discs together in one metal box. The music sampler is a small bonus.

Because I love this film, I'm happy I purchased this edition. I did want both Blu-Ray and DVD.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2012
This movie is great,funny,sad,you name it.i love all the bonus content you receive.

#1 Beyond the movie feature's include.

*Kid's on Christmas
*Deck the hall's
*Santa Mania
*Christmas in Tinseltown
*fact track.

#2 All-Access Pass Features include.

*Commentaries by Will Ferrell.
*Deleted/Alternate Scenes.
*Behind the Scenes.
#1 Tag along with Will Ferrell.
#2Film school for kid's
#3How they made the North Pole.
#4Light's,Camera,PUFFIN!
#5That's a wrap.

*Music from elf.

*Fun "N" Game's

#1Elf karaoke.
#2Read along.
#3Buddy's adventure game
#4Secret elevator "O" fun.

*Dvd-Rom Content

#1Make you own story book.
#2Be and elf photo activities.
#3Script to screen.
#4Image gallery
#5Printable activities
#6and more.

So,yeah this movie is jam packed with fun,and i Highly recommend on getting this.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 19, 2004
Not being a real fan of Saturday Night Live since the days of John Belushi and Bill Murray, my only exposure to Will Farrell came with the movie Old School. And while Farrell was the best part of the film, it wasn't like I would rush right out and see a movie with him as the star...So I missed Elf last year and finally saw it on DVD last night. This is a great holiday movie, and Will Farrell is hilarious. The story of Buddy adjusting to human life after being raised at the North Pole is enchanting, and Farrell's wide-eyed innocence gives you a chuckle as he wanders the streets of New York dressed in his elf attire. This really is a great family movie, kids will love to see Santa and the North Pole, and Buddy's antics will have them laughing as well. But this is not a "Kids" movie in the way that "Santa Clause" is. The jokes also target an older demographic that will have adults laughing too. This is the perfect time of the year to watch Elf, the holidays are right around the corner, and you can't help but catch a little of the Christmas Spirit after watching Elf. Also, any movie that features Bob Newhart's dry humor is worth your viewing. Newhart's Poppa Elf character just had me chuckling whenever he appeared on screen, not since Jack Benny has a comedian been able to express so much by doing so little. Great cast, great writing, great holiday sentiment....you can't ask for more than that.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.