Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Fifth Harmony Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 4, 2011
Regina Spektor does a fine job with this simple New Year's song. The message of the song is universal; the lyrics are simple; the sole piano accompaniment is pleasant.

Give it a try. You might like it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
I thought this was a really sweet song. I like Regina Spektor's quirky style, and I like the fact that the song fits with the holiday theme, even though it's not an old Christmas standard. It's a nice addition to my collection. Thanks, Regina!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2011
This is a fine song beautifully sung with piano accompaniment, but the producer decided to randomly add some background noises like airplanes, machine guns, sirens, etc. I can't tell if it's satire, a song about wartime, a "busy city" NYC type setting, or what, but it is very distracting to me! I think the song would be much better without them (The Peggy Lee original has no silly FX). Then again, this was free Xmas 2011!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
Don't "get" the warfare sound effects. If it's a political statement, it should be an obvious statement, not a gentle tune punctuated with automated gunfire.Peggy Lee's original may be low-tech, low budget, analog recording but it fits the season better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 20, 2011
"My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year)" is an interesting holiday song that contains much meaning. With the opening lines of the title of the song sung that reads almost like a letter and greetings, Regina Spektor shows how the importance of music can translate and reach many regardless of what time or place in which the listener may happen to hear this song. Its melody and symbolic lyrics communicate in so few words along with the special effects that rear in the background of the sound of New Year's revelers but also the irony of other sounds that invoke another meaning that resonates similarly to the traditional ode to the past and welcome to the soon present of "Auld Lang Syne."

Spektor does a good job to show the greater significance of things past and true with the beauty of a song. Indeed, "raise your glass and we'll have a cheer..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2014
From the album 'Gift Wrapped: 20 Songs That Keep On Giving' and arranged in a modern style, 'My Dear Acquaintance [A Happy New Year]' is a keeper.

Its a nice addition to my holiday collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
Someone must be downloading these on my account.
Sometimes Amazon offers free downloads of music. This must be one of them because I don't remember it and would not pay for it. There's no description here, and I like this song just as much as the amount of effort Amazon put in to marketing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
I got this song from as a free sampler. I really didn't like it as much as "The Call" from the Prince Caspian movie. I rarely listen to it and if it's ever in a playlist it's by accident. But it's not bad enough to bother removing from a list...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
I like Regina's other songs, but for some reason I didn't like this one as much. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, so make sure you listen to the song many times before buying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
Can't complain about a free song for library.

Amazon offered it for free so I downloaded it.

Not my choice of music but not the worst music in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.