Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars94
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2001
The 87th Precinct in the fictional city of Isola is hopping...two murders in one day. The first, a married couple found dead in their apartment, unrecognizeable, two shotgun blasts to the face of each. The second, a middle-aged woman found on her kitchen floor with a bread knife sticking out of her chest. The hard-working detectives of the 87th tenaciously follow leads and clues as they circle closer and closer to the truth.....Shotgun is Ed McBain at his best and nobody does it better. This is a police procedural that has it all...great memorable characters, tight, compelling plot, spare, gritty writing and unrivaled, true to life dialogue. Easily read in one sitting, the story pulls you in from page one and doesn't let go. And after finishing Shotgun, it's easy to see why McBain is considered "the best crime writer in the business."
11 comment34 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2002
Fuzz is a five, to me anyway. There are really three stores going on at the same time. One is: someone is throwing gasoline on bums as they sleep and setting them on fire. Carella goes undercover for this one and gets burned himself. Another is: who is after John the Taylor? He is to be robbed but different people show up at the time of the robbery. The other story is the main one.A commissioner is killed after a threat. The Deputy Mayor is killed after a threat. The Mayor is to be next. The squad figures it is the "deaf man" again. All the 87th precinct people work on this. Carella considers him to be a "master criminal"--can he be caught???????? Read as the entire group try to bring this man to justice. As usual McBain writes so you can believe you are there.You get to where you have feelings for each officer and really think you know them. This is the 22nd book I have read by McBain and I think there was only one I did not like. The odds are pretty good you will like this one also.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2002
Another great one by Ed McBain. There are two different crimes going on at the same time. Two people have been shot in the face with a shotgun. Another womean has been stabbed to death. Carellla and Kling catch the first one and Myer and Hawes the second. With very good police work the men go after the one or ones who did these two deeds. McBain uses his usual good writing to move the case forward. He makes you feel like you are there and these things can actually happen. There is a very good twist at the end or it was to me. We even have Roger Broome back from a previous book, number nineteen, I think. If you like a good mystery that will hold you attention and make you not want to put the book down, you will enjoy this one.
11 comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2001
Ed McBain's 1968 "Fuzz" is a terrific read and a lot of fun from a great writer. Notable mostly for the second appearance of the Deaf Man, whom the reader learns more about his brilliance, and the 87th Precinct detectives who try to thwart his every move. Unfortunately, the Deaf Man will try to stop the detectives by making them look stupid and incompetent in the process.
I loved this book. The more I learn about the Deaf Man, the more I want to know. Congratulations to Mr. Ed McBain, the master, for creating such a terrific character. Maybe I could learn a few things or two from the Deaf Man about being a criminal genius.
I also enjoyed the background story about the squad room painters and the Tailor Shop. As for the reader from Minneapolis, MN, did it ever occur to you that not all cops are corrupt and rascist? Even then, remember reading about Detective Andy Parker? Next time, try reading the book before writing a bad review and insulting a great writer.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2000
Since McBain has written a zillion books, I wanted to be caught up with the 87th Pct books by enrolling to my nearest public library. The Fuzz caught my eye because it was one of his earliest, printed in 1968. The book I picked up was reprinted in 1972. Great book, I must add! Carella always gets a beating--and to a pulp! Somebody teach this man self-defense!
A money-hungry deaf man terrorize the city, making the 87th pct go berserk! He's demanding money from them, but when they don't deliver, some well-known city official is murdered. There is lots of action: car bombing, shooting, beating, etc.
The Fuzz was hilarious and a great read--a page turner. Although, I stumbled into some British-custom vocabulary for a U.S.A. plotted book (and I found this odd), it was written well. I'm sure that if McBain revised this book, it would contain American lingo and a year 2000's style.
Excellent book! I recommend it to anyone who wants to read it. As a matter of fact, GO TO YOUR TO NEAREST PUBLIC LIBRARY TO GET IT IF IT'S OUT OF PRINT.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2012
The story is fine.

The e-book is not: it's pretty obviously an OCRed version with insufficient proofreading (missing or incorrect punctuation, typos).
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 27, 2008
Each of McBain's 87th Precinct novels has a little twist of its' own. This one has another appearance by 'the deaf-man'; whose only hard of hearing but hard to kill. Like all of his stories, there are actually three crimes being followed. The one with the deaf-man has to do with him killing politicians and then extorting money from wealthy men.

Story number two has to do with a robbery that is set-up by two of the dumbest criminals who ever lived, and were overheard planning the robbery in a luncheonette. Someone overheard them and wants a piece of the action, ends up getting caught by the police and he rats on the guys.

Story three is about two young guys who have been poring gasoline on bums and then setting them on fire. One of the bums has died. Steve Carella goes undercover as a derelict to try and catch them. But Steve gets beat up twice for his troubles. Who ever heard of a police undercover action without back-up?! Going by himself Carella deserved to get beaten up.
The ending is just too ridiculous to be believed, it piles coincidence on top of remarkable luck and plain stupidity. Totally unbelievable.
11 comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2009
Mysterious death threats against city officials seem like a joke at first. Then the bullets and the bombs come out, and the boys of the 87th Precinct realize that they're dealing with another caper by their old nemesis, the Deaf Man.

This is an exceptionally well-crafted police procedural. The characterizations of Carella, Meyer, and Cotton Hawes are like being reunited with old friends, and the subplots all dovetail to support the main plot. Another great book by McBain -- fun, interesting, and absorbing.

Reviewer: Liz Clare, co-author of the historical novel "To the Ends of the Earth: The Last Journey of Lewis and Clark"
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Another great McBain 87th Precinct story --- I'm reading them all and I'm never disappointed. Great plot, sharp dialogue, smart commentary. The problem with this particular edition, published by RosettaBooks, is the terrible editing job --- mostly run-on sentences. Apparently whatever editor skimmed through this book had lost touch with the concept of periods to end sentences. I've read enough of McBain's books to know that he knew what periods were for.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
I am biased but I find that all of Ed McBain's 87th Precinct novels are good and Fuzz is no exception. The earlier books are shorter and more succinct than the later ones. All of Mr. McBain's novels have two driving forces: great plots and great characters. I love the people of the 87th because they are so well written that I feel like I know them. Now Mr. McBain's plots remind me of Hill Street Blues before it got ruined. The 87th Precinct novels, when they start, give the impression that life started way before Page 1 and that life will continue after the Last Page. Ed McBain did not believe in wrapping up a novel into a neat little bow by the end. You know that cases had started before the major one and that cases will continue after, whether the main plot is done or not. Like Hill Street Blues's story arcs, these novels are called police procedurals for a reason. With the exception of the Deaf Man (the 87th's version of Professor Moriarty) and his nefarious machinations, all of the other cases, criminals, cops, snitches, etc. seem exceptionally real. The police procedures are real. The fact that every case is not solved is real. The fact that characters die is real. I love the people of the 87th. I want the criminals caught. I want the cops to succeed and survive. Ed McBain can be deep in his observations, conservative in his descriptions, generous in his dialogue, and humorous in everyday situations and even very dark ones. Are these novels everyone's cup of tea? No, no novel is, even those considered classic literature. I love these novels and one of my deepest regrets is that I never got to meet Evan Hunter before he passed away to thank him for the many, many hours of enjoyment I have realized from his work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse