Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on Tikes

  • Maxim
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle EditionChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

254 of 262 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2002
I've been reading Maxim since about issue #3. I used to really enjoy the magazine: their witty remarks and interviews with the monthly babes and product reviews were both entertaining and interesting. However, I'm now letting my subscription run out. Maxim has went through something like 3 editors since I've been reading and the magazine is getting progressively worse.
Maxim used to taste test microwave and fast food-type items and give them real, insightful ratings/reviews...things like pizza rolls, pizza pockets, etc. Now there's a fictional person named Hiroki, who does tests on stupid foods. So instead of "One tester said, 'Red Barron pizza had a crispy crust, but was a bit greasy,'" we're left with "Hiroki said the edible panties, 'Taste like chicken. Yum.'"
Another area where Maxim disappoints is in the number of advertisements. The magazine is now significantly thicker and stuffed with ads. In fact, I have ripped the first 10 pages or so out of my last several issues because those first 10 pages are all advertisements!
Maxim also puts a lot of emphasis on their women, who have decreased in quality (read: not as good looking). They do some heavy duty tweaking on the computer too; all of the models look like their skin is made of polished copper.
Maxim has called me no less than 4 times to get me to renew my subscription...I HATE telemarketers! The last time they called I finally asked to be removed from their calling list. They have been sending me "this is your last chance to renew letters" for about 4 months. Great, more junk mail.
Don't get me wrong, Maxim isn't a terrible magazine, but I don't think it's worth subscribing to anymore. You might want to stick to buying it on an issue-by-issue basis, or get the old issues from your friend. Save your subscription money for something else.
1616 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
157 of 176 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 29, 2008
Maxim rode the men's magazine gold rush in the late 1990s, leading Stuff, FHM and a host of other PG-13 fare that filled the convenience store racks as Playboy, Penthouse and the hard cores were either dropped completely or were tucked behind the clerk hidden behind individual black plastic wrappers.

Maxim is the last Laddie still in print in the U.S., having witnessed the print burials for FHM (1996 to 2007) and Stuff (1998 to 2007). Maxim's putrefaction is evident to its subscribers, hence the heavily discounted subscriber rates available today. If you were unfortunate enough to receive a gift subscription to Maxim or, worse yet, bought one for yourself, you can no doubt bear witness to the decay. The magazine simply isn't interesting or compelling to read. You could find more of everything - women, entertainment, food and fashion - in a 10-minute Google search.

Ask yourself, why are you buying a men's magazine?

Want to admire beautiful women? Choose Playboy or Penthouse.

Want to stay healthy and fit? Choose Men's Health (preferred) or Men's Fitness (for younger audiences).

Want to peruse fashion and lifestyle? Choose Esquire or GQ (beware the cologne samples though).

Want a little of everything? Choose Details or Men's Journal.

Pick any of the above options, especially if you are buying a gift subscription. Just avoid Maxim.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2006
I've been a loyal subscriber since 1998 and have always enjoyed the magazine. Something happened to them in early 2006 - they've either been bought or have hired a new editor / staff or something. This magazine is absolutely terrible now. All ads, fewer and fewer pictures of babes in each issue, and the hilarious articles are now long gone. My last two issues (Sept and Oct) were in the trash within minutes of pulling them from my mailbox. I'm canceling my subscription.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2003
I thought the original goal of Maxim was the be the next GQ, but with more skin and less pretense. The skin is there (and, no, guys don't care about the software editors use to enhance the models), but the substance is not.
Like every other checkout stand mag, ads now fill the lion's share of Maxim's pages. Reviews are more and more insipid, covering things many men probably don't care about. The humor is still respectable for the crowd it's aimed at.
I guess Maxim is the magazine for guys who can't read.... or need a hipper supplement to whatever nude mags litter their desks. Bottom line: if you want a skin mag, go with Maxim, but be aware that the level of wit and intelligence is declining all around.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2006
Once upon a time this was a good magazine worth reading cover to cover. Unfortunately they've slowly been replacing content with more and more advertising. As the magazine currently stands you could probably finish reading the actual "content" in about an hour. The rest is advertising and BS. This magazine jumped the shark a long long time ago. Just let it die already like it's supposed to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2011
It's just like reading the magazine. Pages can be viewed one page at a time in portrait view and two pages at a time in landscape view. You can also zoom in to read or look at pictures.

The subscription price is also a great deal. If you read Maxim and got a Kindle Fire, I recommend this highly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on August 11, 2007
Talk about going downhill.

I had subscribed to Maxim for about 2 years back around 2000/2001 and enjoyed every single issue. They were all great reading. Sure, the chicks are nice to look at, but porn totally trumps them there, so it's the meat of the mag that kept my subscriptions rolling. Eventually, I went into school and, being the penny-pincher that I was and with the promotional price of a subscription finally hitting its end, I let it run out.

Well, here we are years later in 2007 and I get another promotional subscription offer. Remembering the manly goodness, I send in my check and, after a few weeks, receive my first issue. On my next trip to the toilet, I crack open my first Maxim in years... and what the @#%$ happened? First of all, the magazine is half the size it used to be, but not only that, but the ads-to-content ratio has gotten ridiculous. The content that is there is decent so far, but compared to what it used to be, it's pretty disappointing. And here I am, with another 11 months worth of these things coming to me. Ah, well, at least I'm only out 10 bucks.

Maxim: what happened?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
194 of 250 people found the following review helpful
on May 27, 2003
i've bought a few copies of this magazine, but none in over a year. maxim is chock full of repetitive sex stories and media-savvy "babes" that conveniently pose at the same time their new CDs or movies are about to come out. a typical issue is 175 pages of advertising (counting those airbrushed pictorials) and maybe 25 pages of actual content, most of which is either recycled from previous maxims or adapted from other magazines.
i find it hilarious that the same "manly man" guys who make fun of oprah-watching females buy this magazine and claim it the greatest thing on the newsstand, when it's really just the same shallow junk as any housewife-friendly talk show. it's not that i hate this magazine, i just think it's really really lame.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on November 14, 2001
I honestly can't find a better magazine for men. Maxim takes into account the third-grade like attention span of most men, and combines it with the imaturity of what seems to be an all-men publishing force. While it may seem Maxim is marketed to the single man, I've found that most girlfriends and wives enjoy this magazine as well. The pictorials are decent enough not to embarass you on and airplane, and the articles contain enough substance to make you laugh, and intrigue you. In reality, if your life consists of middle-management, beer, and an interest in the pursuit of meaningless information, this magazine is for you!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
on November 1, 2001
Maxim aims itself straight at what the straight male psyche likes: laughter, girls, and bizarre subjects (such as "How to Survive Torture", a topic in the September 2001 issue).
... this magazine is not just about sex and bad taste. It celebrates male life, and it does this without apology. Men have apologized far too much; the people who seem to think maleness needs to be "fixed" are maladjusted [people] who would never cut men any slack anyway, no matter how "sensitive" or politically correct men pretend to be, so men might as well party. Maxim is the technical journal of this attitude!
Maxim and some other men's magazines (like Men's Health) have discovered a formula that works to keep men reading: To-the-point articles thoroughly interleaved with humor and banter; lots of photographs and descriptive drawings; and topics ranging from sex and seduction to war and first aid. Lots of practical information and lots of truly excellent photos of sexy women that are not raunchy.
If I could only read one men's magazine, this would be it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Men's Journal
Men's Journal by Wenner Media

Popular Science
Popular Science by Bonnier Corp

Esquire by Hearst Magazines

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.