Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Grocery Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars73
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Muhammad Ali has always played a large part in my life. He showed me that being black did not make me inferior at a time when almost everything and everyone said the opposite. This book gave me a fresh perspective on his achievements and his beliefs, thanks to contributions from sources as diverse as Joe Frazier and Cheryl Tiegs. The stories are wide-ranging and informative. Some were laugh out loud funny (very embarrassing when you're on a train). Some were depressing (stories surrounding Ali's entourage and the Holmes fight almost made me cry). There are even some from people who don't like Ali or see him as someone worthy of praise. All of them gave me a deeper, more rounded insight into a man that I viewed with awe and reverence. I started the book seeing Ali as some kind of distant super hero and ended it seeing him as a warm, caring human being with the same flaws and insecurities as anyone else. Along the way I laughed a lot and learned even more. The book is funny, engaging, and inspirational...just like the man himself.
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2003
MUHAMMAD ALI: HIS LIFE AND TIMES, through accounts of noteworthy admirers and close-associates, chronicles the life and times of a living legend. Long-time pugilistic journalist and award-winining author Thomas Hauser has painstakingly compiled a wealth of information to support what seems to be his thesis: that no matter how amazing Muhammad Ali was in the ring, his worth as a boxing champion is far exceeded by his worth as a citizen of this world. In 500 pages of text, we are able to follow Ali in his growth from a brash, boisterous heavyweight contender to a highly devoted man of God who brings happiness wherever he tarries. For fight fans, all of the classic bouts from Liston I to Manilla are covered; anecdotes to be especially savored are those leading up to the first Liston fight, where Ali was arguably out of his mind in the extent to which he went in taunting his opponent, as well as the unadvised beating Ali suffered at the hands of Larry Holmes in the twilight of his career. Most interesting were the sections of the book that dealt with Ali's relationship with Malcolm X and the Nation of Islam at the beginning of his first reign as heavyweightchampion and his conscientiously objecting to fighting in Vietnam. It is obvious that Hauser is captivated by his subject and looks upon Ali with great reverence. At times this can lead to the feeling that the author went to great lengths selecting interviews which sanitize and exagerate the legacy of Ali. Still, so many different people can't be distorting the truth; it is undeniable that Ali has a heart of gold and it brought a smile to my face everytime I read about him performing magic tricks for children, or meeting with fans, no matter what, to show his appreciation for their humanity. It is tragic and anger-provoking that Ali was taken advantage of by so many people that he loved and provided for, but it is a blessing that his spirit exists in this bio for future generations to learn of.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
The book did provide me information that I did not know about Ali. But the book was mostly a series of direct quotes from persons involved with Ali with limited narration by the author to tie the quotations together. It made for a long, slow read because many of the quotes had information that I found not relevant or were repititve information. I expect a biographer to sort out the duplicative material and provide a much better flow. Further it should be noted that the book was written 20+ years ago and was somewhat dated. There was about a page of postscript from the author regarding the time lapse but no update on Ali's current situation or status.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
To the millions of retirees Mohamed Ali (Cassias Clay) belongs to the 60"s and 70"s of the past century. That was when he used to dominate the boxing world and when his fights used to be anxiously awaited by admirers around the entire world.Those were the days when he terrorised his opponents and intimidated them with threats and demeaning poems. He was not just tough; he was merciless! In fact, he literally drove some of his toughest challengers to tears!

But to say this is to omit the other half of a great story. Mohamed Ali these days is a totally different man. The times when he humiliated his challengers with his swift knockouts inflicting heavy damage are gone, but not necessarily missed. Paradoxically, Mohamed himself was neither hateful nor vindictive as demonstrated by his generous and kind acts towards all people, specially as he grew older. To him boxing was a technical and strategic challenge and not a way to hurt his foes. That is why he almost never said a bad word about his opponent after a fight but instead he evaluated his performance on a strictly technical basis.

To understand Mohamed Ali we need to realise that his life consisted of two distinct phases. The first phase was purely devoted to his athletic performance in which he was considered the greatest heavy-weight boxer in the world . Those were the years of glory for which he became known from Asia to America. Interestingly, however, the second phase was dominated by spiritual devotion. That is when Mohamed converted to Islam and became emotionally and intellectually a devout Muslim. This once-devastating boxer now kneels down and prays to God (Allah) five times every day. He hates no body and wants to help every body. He now regrets some of the cruel things he had done to his foes. He wants to fight hunger and bring peace to society. Thousands seek his autograph every month and with every autograph he passes a leaflet preaching Islam. He married four times and stipulated that every wife should practice Islamic traditions.

Although Mohamed Ali has now slowed down and apparently has a light form of parkinsonism he is at peace with himself. He believes it is Allah's will, and Allah does things for a purpose.

Credit should be given to the author for his unique handling of this biography. He tells the Mohamed Ali story through all the people who knew him - his family, his friends, his agents and even his foes. They all come forth to tell their point of view in an interesting and candid manner. With this style one could hardly accuse the author of bias.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
this was a great book; liked the style hauser used to relay the story of ali; i grew up in my early adult life wanting anyone ali fought to beat him bad to hopefully shut his big mouth; he was a self promoting fighter who was obnoxious how he riduculed many of the fighter he was scheduled to fight but reading this book make me rethink so of my attitudes towards ali; he was not perfect & some of my early criticisms still hold merit but there was a lot about the man i did not know & i have come to respect him more after reading this book; book covers his fights well but also covers his politics, religion, opposition to vietnam war etc; i recomend this book highly to anyone who wants to know what the 60 & 70's were all about
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2008
I first really watched an Ali fight as a boy. Ali was fighting his second comeback fight against the Argentine brawler Oscar Bonavena. It was a gruelling 15 round fight. It was on ABC, and Howard Cosell made it sound much more dramatic than it actually was. It was competitive, but Ali was winning the fight when he dug deep, and dropped Bonavena three times in the final round for an automatic stoppage. This was not a feat to be taken lightly. Bonavena had fought Joe Frazier twice, Floyd Patterson, Jerry Quarry, Jimmy Ellis, and a host of others without being taken off his feet.

In any case, over the years, I had read so much about Ali, that when a friend passed this book to me, I was unexcited at the prospect of reading another Ali chronicle.

I was unexpectedly delighted at Hauser's coverage of this legend. He brings out what a transcendant figure Ali was (and remains).

He uses the same technique that made Terry Pluto's LOOSE BALLS a classic sports story, in that he lets people from Ali's past do the talking. Former opponents, wives, associates, friends, trainers all take their turns. Many are insightful.

Hauser is not beyond showing us Ali's warts. We see him as an unfaithful husband, as a cruel tormentor at times, as a foolhardy spendthrift (chump), and for once, as a confused and angry young man, as he transitions into his Muslim persona.

But he evolves as an incredibly special human being. As his skills begin to erode in the ring, his humane qualities flourish. He becomes a man of deep, contented faith. He performs acts for ordinary people that show him to be a worthy idol.

As his career ends, he confronts his diminishing health and vitality by once again looking to his faith. He meets his fourth wife, and finds peace with himself.

Some of what is in this book is hilarious. Ali in many ways is a true original. He is a first rate character, and leaves his ring opponents and his associates often shaking their heads. George Foreman tells a truly funny story about him, and later speaks in great reverence about Ali's greatness, and what an honor it was to share a ring with him.

One thing the book points out is in the 1960's and 1970's, many of the fighters were thoughtful, intelligent and articulate men. Not so much anymore.

The one disappointing item for me, was that the story ends in 1988. Ali's story has continued.

Hauser is a worthy chronicler of this seminal icon. He has done a profound service for any fan, or any curious person who would like to know about one of last century's most famous and influential people.

This is one of the greatest sports biographies I have ever read.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
from the first time i got the book and read it i was so happy.this man was a genius in the ring and a human force outside of it.this book showcases all the many sides of the greatest.very compelling and full of insight.it showcases the myths&mystic of the man.one of the greatest bios that i've ever read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2014
A piece of history from multiple of perspectives. The author placed comments and stories told by those close to Ali ... people who lived next to him, fighters, friends, family, business acquaintances, wives, etc. You get their perspective, too.

With this information inserted after a subject is discussed, it first throws you off balance until you realize that everybody weighs in on the subject before moving on to the next subject or area of Ali's life.

This book covers Ali's life more thoroughly than any other publication I have read. From the people I have spoken to, this is the most accurate and concise writing to cover Ali's life. The book is lengthy, but has a lot of information for those who have the interest. For boxing fans, this book a must have.

This book is Scott Ayler Approved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2015
I was excited to read this book, and it didn't disappoint. There were many insiders in this book who seemed to honest about life around Ali, and words from Ali himself. The author takes you on a chronology of his life, but I would've liked to know more about how he truly felt about the Malcolm X assassination. Either way, lots learned about Ali, although I thought the book dragged at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2013
Hauser used a different approach in writing this book, in that Ali story is directly told by others in chronological order. This makes the book a faster read and helps the reader draw their own conclusions about Ali, by hearing difference opinions and different versions of some of the same events. This was a unique approach. I particular enjoyed the opinions given about whether Ali in his prime would have won a fight between Tyson in his prime. I also enjoyed reading about Ali's giving nature that most of the public is unaware of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.