Industrial-Sized Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon July 26, 2013
The irony of titling their new album "Overexposed" must have been lost on Adam Levine and Maroon 5. The album is overproduced, over-compressed and over-just-about-everything. Like so many bands in the current pop zeitgeist, they decided that they needed to conform to current popular production memes, which means having a guest rapper-of-the-moment (Wiz Khalifa, adding bonus profanities to "Payphone"), auto-tune, writer/producers of the now (Max Martin, Ryan Tedder) and multiple other steps that rob the band of any of their previous individual qualities. Take Adam out of the equation, and this would be another generic, over-compressed/produced pop-album.

The saving grace is Adam, who's white-boy soul is on a par with Daryl Hall at this point. Given the material he has to work with, he milks every hook and croon he can. Good numbers like "Lucky Strike," "Lady Killer" and even the obscenity laced "Payphone" stick like rubber cement. I'll make a quick point to say that I'm not a prude, but for a band that seemingly prides itself on their pop craftsmanship, the swearing in "Payphone" and "Tickets" just seems more gratuitous than effective, like the band has to prove how hard they are. But when you're capable of making really good light funk that hits its groove like "Fortune Teller" and "Doin' Dirt," you don't need to prove you're anything but a great pop band.

Which is what, ultimately, Maroon 5 is. "Overexposed" hits all its marks seemingly without effort, with craftsmanship that most any other band would sell their bubblegum machines for. Adam's unique voice gives the band enough identity to cut through the generic sounding production here, and when they horn-pump Prince's slinky "Kiss" (a bonus track on the deluxe version), they demonstrate that they're above the cookie-cutter sound that plagues this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on September 11, 2012
I have been a fan of Maroon 5 since their debut album, which came out when I was in my teens. They were fantastic, catchy without being bubblegum poppy, and sexy without it being forced down your throat. However, with the new success of Adam on The Voice and this new 'pop' album (which please, they've always made a form of pop rock, you are only finally admitting it), I feel like the music is now suffering. This was a good buy for about $3 ($5 but I had free amazon dollars from a previous mp3 purchase) but to be honest I listen to maybe a third of the album.

The Keepers:
One More Night
Lucky Strike
The Man Who Never Lied
Doin' Dirt

This is a far cry from She Will Be Loved, Harder to Breath, and Misery. 4 songs out of 12 that were truly worth it, and the song writing has suffered. I can't even begin to rant about how horrid Payphone is. Mediocrity from a favorite band... I guess not so much a favorite anymore :(
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on July 1, 2012
With Adam Levine and Company at the height of their popularity, naming the new album OVEREXPOSED sends mixed signals. The band realizes that here, at the peak of their fame, they are at their most poppy. Do they regret it? Do they embrace it? Coming off of the heels of the massive hit "Moves Like Jagger," Levine has said that the song revitalized the band's career; it gave them a direction. Now, the band plans to capitalize on that direction with their newest release. This new creative direction has turned out to be pretty polarizing with fans of the band.

The band that wrote SONGS ABOUT JANE is barely recognizable here. The light indie-rock that brought the band into the public eye is gone, replaced with a slick, uptempo version of modern disco. Levine would even state of the album: "It's very much an old-fashioned disco tune." Not that it is necessarily a bad thing; the production and writing here is so slick and streamlined that all of these songs sound like they could appear on the radio. The band doesn't feel out of place -- it's a sound that works for them. There's a ton of influences here: reggae, blues, funk, indie rock, pop, etc... but it's all been covered with a glossy sheen of production. The biggest issue with this production is that most of the songs sound very similar; and if you aren't thrilled with their new sound, this album will really wear out its welcome. The OVEREXPOSED opens with "One More Night" (upcoming single), a solid song that sets the tone and mood of the album. Second track, "Payphone," has already received a ton of radioplay, and deservedly so: it's a fun, catchy hit. "Ladykiller" is a funky, disco-tinged song that is as catchy as it is littered with falsetto. OVEREXPOSED feels like the band is having a good time trying out this more mainstream direction, pouring their influences into more conventional formats. Unfortunately, the album doesn't quite hit the heights of its first half.

Fans who were hoping for a continuation of the direction seen in HANDS ALL OVER are in luck. However, if you were hoping for a return to the funk-tinged IT WON'T BE SOON BEFORE LONG or the personal SONGS ABOUT JANE, chances are you will probably be disappointed with this new record. If you enjoyed last year's massive hit "Moves Like Jagger," check this album out. Highlight tracks to sample/download: "Payphone," "One More Night," "Ladykiller," and "Beautiful Goodbye."

Additional Release Info: The deluxe edition of OVEREXPOSED comes with three extra songs, including the excellent cover of Prince's "Kiss." The other two songs are good, but I would only recommend for Maroon 5 fans interested in their new direction. You can find the deluxe edition here: OVEREXPOSED (Deluxe Version) [Explicit].
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
49 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2012
A lot of critical things have been said about this album (see sampling below), but I think the most accurate and important one is this: "On much of the album, Maroon 5 barely sound like a band at all."

That's because Maroon 5 no longer really exists. They are no longer creating their own music. They recognized that all of the current hit music falls under categories like "disco-flavored dance-floor filler" or "dance-pop glitz," and they knew to sell songs they'd need to hire outside help. Who'd they hire? Look up names like Max Martin, Ryan Tedder, Shellback, and Benny Blanco--these people are the new "Maroon 5," and they are also Pink and Katy Perry and Kelly Clarkson and Usher and Britney Spears and Taio Cruz and Adele and OneRepublic and Gym Class Heroes and Sean Paul and Avril Lavigne and Justin Bieber and Ke$ha and Flo Rida and Pitbull. I'm not making this up--it is a fact that almost all of the music we hear on the radio is created by the same few guys whose names you probably haven't heard.

I think it would be fair to say that the Billboard 100 has never been in such a sad, homogenous state, and I think it would also be fair to say that the release of this album confirms that modern hit music is vapid and soulless--it is little more than brand names selling catchy hooks created by anonymous dance-pop gurus.

Adam Levine himself admits that Overexposed "is definitely our poppiest album yet," and he admits that he has a "love/hate relationship with it." Maybe he'll get back to doing what he loves if we stop buying dance-pop glitz.


Other things that have been said about this album:

* "Every song sounds as if it was custom made to play behind the montage of someone's 'journey' in a TV talent show." (The Independent)
* "It seems more like a collaboration between Swedish hitmakers and AutoTune than between Levine and members of his band." (The Washington Post)
* "Even with various superstar producers on board, including Max Martin and Ryan Tedder, the album is stridently homogenous." (Boston Globe)
* "Overexposed is a hit-seeking missile that doesn't just slaughter Maroon 5's reputation for sincerity, it festoons its corpse with glitter." (The Washington Post)
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 9, 2012
I listened to this album on repeat for 2 weeks. I loved "Songs about Jane" and while you would be comparing apples and oranges while talking about the two albums, they are similar in the stories the songs tell. The songs are about love and heartache and the heart break and all the darkness inbetween.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 13, 2014
These guys had a burst of energy the past three years. Ever since summer 2011, Maroon 5 has not looked back. Adam Levine has a penchant for making real hooky music, at least on this album.

Moves Like Jagger was huge in 2011, but there was no album following it. It ended up on their 2010 album deluxe, which was only a few months old. They went to work, and crafted several songs that I think could have kept them around in 2014 until their next album.

With Overexposed, Maroon 5 have an expenditure of songs. They all feel like sing alongs, and they really are. The cd went four singles deep, and lasted until summer 2013, a year after the cd came out. It makes you wonder what they will do for their next album.

1) One More Night- The second single. I think it's one of the best on the cd, if you like to sing, you will find it on spades. It lasted for 9 weeks as number 1 on billboard. It was infectious in 2012. I heard it everywhere. Definitely check this song out first. 5 out of 5

2) Payphone- The first single. Kind of a glimpse into the group. I don't enjoy this single as much as future singles. I didn't start liking Maroon 5 until after this song had run its course (I started June 2012). It's still hooky but One More Night exceeds it. 5 out of 5

3) Daylight- The third single. Wowsers this song is HOT. A mellow but effective song. Here is another song better than Payphone. I get the feeling you will sing along to this. You can play it anywhere but the clubs. 5 out of 5

4) Lucky Strike- The would be fifth single. If there would have been another single it would be this. Still as hooky as ever. If you are looking for songs that blow you away first time, check out this one. 5 out of 5

5) The Man Who Never Lied- The first rock tinged song. You shouldn't notice though. There's plenty to sing, and maybe you can relate to lying to not break someone's heart. The whole cd is close to being singles, so I think it could have been a late one. 5 out of 5

6) Love Somebody- The fourth single. It's a bubbler. I think the vocals are real sharp. I've noticed that these are not really club songs, but songs about going out. But where would you be that you would hear this? Bowling alleys? Pool halls? Strip Clubs? Most of these songs are for those who have a night life. 5 out of 5

7) Ladykiller- Yes it's one of the best on the cd. A bit short, but that won't detract. Trust me when I say it's a singalong. Adam Levine has really done his thing on all of the songs. I think this is Maroon 5's best cd, but then I haven't really listened to their previous ones. 5 out of 5

8) Fortune Teller- These songs are more mellow than expected. If you can deal with that the only paced song is Lucky Strike, you will enjoy them. Still sing songy, but it's about living in the moment. I don't agree, but it's a hot song. 5 out of 5

9) Sad- More moods for the album. There is a lot of remorse about being successful with women. Life gives you solutions but there's no point in ruminating all the time. It's a great song. Play it if you're having an off day. 5 out of 5

10) Tickets- I'm running out of ways to praise these guys. The whole album has been hooky, and they haven't veered to try something differently bad, or left fieldly awkward. They are on a streak of sorts. I do recommend trying this song out as one of your first. 5 out of 5

11) Doin' Dirt- I like the pace of the song. It's like Lucky Strike but better. Itll keep you in an excited mood. It's hard to decide where to play this song. Maybe when you just got off work, or before a date or event. It's another bubbler. 5 out of 5

12) Beautiful Goodbye- A closing song, and it works. Goodbyes are deep, but exaggerated. It's still a hook filled song. If you bought the standard edition, this was a clean sweep. Let's check out the deluxe. 5 out of 5

13) Wipe Your Eyes- One of those extra tracks that you're like "damn, release all of your scrapped tracks!". The sample or voice in the background really nails it further. The vocals are exceptional. 5 out of 5

14) Wasted Years- Kind of a luxury track. Not as effective as the first thirteen songs, but hey a full album is gold anywany. A little too lazy. 2 out of 5

Really the album is flawless. Adam Levine can sing, and not just that, get YOU singing. That in itself is a skill. You won't hear this at a club in Atlanta, or Chicago, but at a regular place you go when you go out, definitely.

They have gotten better. Most of the tracks are mellow, and a bit emotional. You could relate.

The songs to check out first besides the singles are Lucky Strike, The Man Who Never Lied, Ladykiller, Fortune Teller, Tickets and Doin' Dirt.

I'm hoping for some songs that don't reflect as much. I think they didn't want to be one dimensional. Don't mind me.

Pros:The whole cd. All the hooks and vocals. First time listen hits.

Cons:Maybe too mellow. You might not feel the same way if you're living the same.

Great Music to Play While: Getting ready to go out
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2012
It seeems as though all good artists get pulled down to the "regular" muck that most of the music industry is swimming in. Maroon 5, after 3 solid albums, have finally jumped in too.

I admit there was a change from Songs About Jane to It Won't Be Soon Before Long, however I don't feel like Maroon 5 compromised the character of their core: great lyrics, great instruments and great signing.

Unfortunately, Overexposed is just that, Maroon 5 overexposed to what's "hot" right now. Adam Levine has such an amazing voice that the group never had to stoop to this level to be recognized for talent, if anything they've voided what I (and others) have seen in them all along.

Simply put, anyone could be singing these songs, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga... the songs are mostly shallow and lacking the same soulful emotion and talent that was expressed in previous albums. I thought Maroon 5 would stay on my favorites list, but after this album, that has ended. Hopefully they can try to find their way back, but I highly doubt that's in their (current or future) intentions.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2012
There is Overexposed with 12 songs, and there is Overexposed DELUXE version with 15 songs. Both for $4.99 at this writing. I'm a little pissed about this because guess which one I just purchased? Other than that, the album is ok, but I'm disappointed in the amount of autotune in it. They have more talent than that! It's definitely not Songs About Jane. That album made me a fan. I own the rest of their albums also. Each one I like a little less than the last. This may be the last one I purchase, if they keep going down this path.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2012
This album was a TOTAL departure from their style from the past three albums. The hip style and smooth lyrics from their first albums were good to great. This album left their fan base behind in the dust. I used to be able to see that I liked all of Maroon 5's music, but now I most certainly cannot say that. This album is a desperate attempt to try to mooch off the success of dance music, and the entire album sounds for the most part the same, with one or two depressing exceptions. Goodbye.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2013
Unfortunately, this album and their last (Hands all Over) have one thing in common. The "band" seems to have gone away from making talented, thoughtful, original music to a more popular variety that sells better. This used to be one of my favorite bands, but I am finding that I do not enjoy the songs on their 2 most recent albums. Come back to your roots Maroon 5!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.