Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 21, 2012
I was a little bit nervous purchasing this laptop considering the specs listed on amazon's site are different. The top of the page says the computer has Windows NT operating system and the bottom said Windows 8. I took a chance and ordered the computer and I LOVE it.

Its very fast and picture quality is amazing. I love that it has an HDMI output. My only computer only had VGA. The difference in streaming video on the computer and onto the tv is amazing.

Windows 8 is taking a little while to get used to. I was using Windows 7 previously but I'm starting to get the hang of it.

The laptop is light weight, sleek and the keyboard feels good on your hands. Overall I def recommend this product. I think everyone will love it!
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2013
I recommend this laptop.

Used exclusively for work to demonstrate videos and photos to customers... play internet radio. It's fast enough with adequate memory and speed for what I use it for. Arrived on time (Prime is worth getting if you use Amazon a lot pay over $80 in shipping a year).

This is my 2nd HP and the other (HP G6) is still doing fine (8GB RAM)... I upgraded to 8GB RAM through Crucial [dot ]com and it runs over 12 hours a day and has been doing so since Fall of 2011. This model (4GB RAM) is capable of 8GB RAM for even better performance. Note that this comes with Windows 8 and I think runs better than my G6 where I upgraded from Win 7.

Get these 2 modules:
Crucial CT3695417
or Kingston or Corsair... all available from Amazon.com

Open the access area... battery compartment or entire bottom of the laptop, locate where the RAM slot is, remove the existing module by pressing down on the retaining clips, remove the module, get the new module and line up the notch in the row of metal pins at the bottom of your module with the key in the SODIMM slot on your motherboard. (If the notch doesn't line up right away, flip your module around and try it the other way. It doesn't matter which side of your module has the black chips or the stickers on it. The important thing is to line up the notch.)

Hold the module at a 45-degree angle to the slot and slide it into place. No more than 1/16" of the gold contacts should be showing when the module is properly seated in the slot.

MODULE:
FEATURE: DDR3 PC3-10600, DDR3 PC3-12800
SPECS FOR RAM: NON-ECC * DDR3-1333 * 1.35V * 512Meg x 64
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
I purchased this system on June 1, 2013 and received it approximately 2.5 weeks later.

less than three months later the speakers stopped working and the system crashed. i thought i purchased a new system.

when i contacted the seller etrador2008 i was told to contact hp directly.

i will never purchase anything from etrador2008 again and i advise others to do the same.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a good basic laptop for school or traveling or basic computing at home. The price point is really excellent, so for a college laptop or business travel laptop--or even replacing a desktop for most people, this is quite a good PC. Some of the accessories like webcam, optical drive are excellent at this price. So this is a fully-functional PC, but with some limitations for special use, like intensive gaming, video editing and heavy multi-tasking. If you are an average user who just watches HD movies and does regular computing tasks, this budget PC has a lot to offer for the price.

Features:

1. 15" screen is not a bad size. Not the largest you can get, but this makes the unit a compact size.

2. Not really what you'd want for gaming due to the processor but I don't do any gaming.

3. Screen: Has a 15 inch screen, maximum screen resolution 1366 X 768 pixels

4. Memory: 4 GB DIMM. Not a lot--simply sufficient (esp if all you do is internet, email, some documents in Word and a few spreadsheets) Not expandable

5. CPU Processor: AMD Celeron E1200 1.4 GHz processor. This is a low-end processor which is why it's not great for gaming but you won't notice any problems with basic tasks. You WILL notice it if you do multi-tasking (open a few windows and run several programs simultaneously--or load in a number of photos to Photoshop Elements for editing--or try to edit a video. Then you'll see the issue with a slower processor.)

6. Size: Compact. If you travel a lot, and what you do is access internet, make PowerPoint slides, this is great for the carryon. It's about 14 by 19 inches and 3 inches thick. Not the thinnest around but compact. Weighs about 5 lbs.

7. Video features: HD TrueVision, so viewing movies works great. HD Webcam, good for skyping, etc. Altec-Lansing dual speakers. Headphone jack and mic. SuperMulti DVD optical drive/burner.

8. Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 7310 Discrete-Class Graphics 1972MB total graphics memory

7. Hard drive 320GB.

8. Battery life around 4 hours

Summary: good, solid, inexpensive, nice-looking (shiny black) laptop works for travel, internet, webcam & skyping, watching movies, regular business tasks like Word, Spreadsheets, Powerpoint. For gaming, graphics-intensive and multi-tasking computing, not enough power.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
recieved my computer in only 2 business days. and love it so far. I dont really like windows 8 but the computer is great
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
this is a wonderful laptop. it is my first and the instructions were easy to set it up. i love it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Should've listened to my inner voice. Box was dirty...sitting on a shelf too long in some warehouse. That should've been my first clue to return it. Opened it up anyway and tried getting it functioning. Windows 8 operating system was installed. Took almost 4 hrs. to get the 167 Windows 8.1 upgrades downloaded just to get this thing running properly. Not impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
very light, very fast, boots instantly,and has a nice keyboard.
but....
came with windows 8, biggest mistake of my life. win 7 was the easiest o/s to work with, win 8 is designed by son dumbs--t who doesn't understand how hard it is to change habits learned on older machines. you gotta hunt to find what you need, caution, it may not be in the new o/s. touch the wrong spot on the touch pad, it takes you hither and yon. the capping pain in the a-- is turning off the computer, they want you to hibernate instead, gotta go thru a buncha steps and screens to power down!!
last minor complaint, shell is gloss black, finger print city.

wonder if they offer a downgrade to win 7?
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
I work as a repair technician for a PC repair business. I get this laptop all the time. In the past year alone, about 80% of my repairs are HP laptops just like this one. The mounts that attach the monitor to the bottom of the case are made of cheap plastic. After about a year they will break and the hinges will then rub against your internal DC jack cable, monitor cable, and webcam cable. There have also been many cases that I have taken myself where this problem damages the motherboard. If you don't like repair fees, don't get this computer or similar HP-2000 / Dv6,7 models.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I've always been a Toshiba guy but couldn't pass up the price point when i went to replace my 4 year old Satellite. Other than HATING Windows 8, I'm very Very pleased with the performance of this HP.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.