Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
62
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon October 30, 2012
I had Andrew Bird pegged. He is that guy that makes complicated sophisticated pop music and he whistles. He's got a sweet voice, and an interesting world view. Right? Well, apparently he's like an onion--he's got layers. Hands of Glory is as basic as you can get--just take some fantastic musicians, put them all around a single microphone, mix in some old-time tunes, and see where you go. I would never have put Bird in an Alt-Country label, but that is what you get here. Great harmonies, picked string instruments played with passion and skill, and some plaintive fiddles make this seem like something that could be happening on an especially blessed porch in Appalachia. If you are already a fan of Bird, then pick this up with complete confidence--it is so good, so relaxed, so well played, you will soon be sharing it with all your friends. A great and unexpected treat.
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2012
This is the sort of music you might expect to hear at a dive bar somewhere in the American Southwest. Bird's fiddle rolls with golden-honey harmonies and a simple strummed backbone. A calm, warm quiet. Less whine than whimper. I didn't know a fiddle could do that.

A reviewer nailed the Hands-of-Glory experience when he said, "It doesn't shock or change the course of rivers, but it does invite, and welcome, and maybe pour you a cup of tea and ask about your day."
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
I have four or five Andrew Bird albums, and love every one. This work, which features old-style sound (heavy on the fiddle) and a spiritual, sometimes gospel feel, features his rich voice and string workmanship. "Three White Horses," the opening piece, is my favorite. Critics have not raved about this album as they have his others, finding it a bit 'aw shuck-sy,' but I enjoy the country flavor and particularly like his rendition of "If I Needed You."
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon February 21, 2013
I'm a fan of Andrew Bird's music. His last album didn't quite strike me, but this one hit me squarely between the eyes (and ears). The production quality is excellent and every song is a keeper. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. Andy gets back to his folk roots with this release. There's plenty of gorgeous violin work but I'll admit that I do miss his signature whistle on Hands of Glory. The epic final track "Beyond the Valley of the Three White Horses"; reprises the first song of the album and ties it all together in a nice neat bow. I often listen to this album at work on repeat, and never tire of it. I'd love to hear it live.

For fans of folk, Andrew Bird's more stripped down and thoughtful creations, ...and just plain good, authentic music -- then Hands of Glory should not disappoint.

~ Kort
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
I saw Andrew Bird (with Tifft Merritt as guest violinist) on the David Letterman show and just had to buy his album (and one of hers, as well).

Wow--I love all kinds of music, bluegrass included. Andrew Bird plays unusual, but recognizable, tunes, modals, etc. I play it in my car on long country drives and love it more each time I take a trip.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2013
Admittedly I like most material from Mr. Bird so I'm biased. He's a super talented songwriter and player, and this release stands out in that it has a live acoustic, down home feel. I recommend turning it up loudly on a quality home audio system capable of playing the upright bass in this recording. It sounds awesome! And the track Orpheo, which has a simple melody, is beautiful. This release took more listens to "get" but after time I think it may be one of his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
I don't have words to describe how much I love Andrew Bird's music. He's an amazing musician who creates just beautiful sounds. This album is equally as impressive as his previous works. There's a noticeable lack of whistling on this album, and it feels more folky, but that doesn't mean I don't love it. Wonderful album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2013
I love all of Andrew Bird, but I would have to say that this would have to be my least favorite of all of his cds, which is surprising, considering that it is said to be the other half of Break It Yourself. Any of Andrew Bird's other cds I would rate with an enthusiastic 5 stars, but this one just wasn't as impressing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Andrew Bird never disappoints. A great experience listening over and over.

This album is not a radical departure from his past work. If you liked his other albums, you'll like this. If you're not a fan, this won't change your mind. But a good solid listen all around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
I love the depth of sound on this album. You get the country swing sound of If I Needed You, done only as these guys can do (I prefer it over Townes' version). Railroad Bill gives you a little more straight forward folk with a classic country railroad song sound. Three White Horses and Beyond the Valley of the Three White Horses give you the awesome creative playfulness that are what I love about Andrew Bird. To top it off, you get Spirograph which has a really accessible groove and some foot-tapping power.

Those are my favorites on the album and I could listen to this album all day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.