Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 31, 2012
This jacket is pretty toasty and comfortable as well as very light weight. The finish is just slightly shiny, about halfway between matte and gloss. It looks attractive but does not overly scream for attention. The fit is on the trim side but seems normal. I usually wear a medium and the medium fits me just fine. I could put a hi-tech layer under it if I needed to but have not felt the need to thus far. I am 6 feet and 169 pounds. I use it for travel and not outdoors stuff so can only speak from that experience. These are not "waterproof" (I use a Marmot Precip as an outer shell with this jacket if need be) but I have used it with an umbrella in steady but not heavy city rain and it has repelled water just fine. In wind chill I have been quite comfortable. It gets good points regarding value for money as a down jacket. I also rate it highly for design as you can adjust the sort of things on it you would want to for comfort and getting cozy. As an overall item I think five stars is not exaggerating. Some Canadian users I have read have used it down to -15 C (about 5 F) and rated it well. I have worn it in 28 F or so (-2 C) and have no complaints. I have no problem recommending it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
Bought this jacket last year from amazon and expected killer Marmot warmth for the money. But it only offers mediocre warmth. I have owned the Guides down jacket for nearly 12 years and it is still way warmer than this jacket. I love Marmot but i think they are stretching there feathers a little too thin. If you are looking for some serious backcountry warmth, i would look someplace else.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Fit was right on. Not too bulky and it is cut well with not too much fabric around the mid section. I wore it on a recent late season duck hunt in 18 degree weather and it preformed very well. Works great as a layer underneath my camo shell. The hood is luxurious and VERY warm. Can be worn stand alone as well. I can recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
I received the jacket in the mail fast, in time to take with me on my Christmas vacation. I was very pleased with the Marmot and the construction quality of this jacket. The weight of the jacket is lite and easy to pack in your luggage. It kept me very warm in 30 degree windy weather. It is a nice looking jacket and I would recommend it highly to future friends.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
This parka is just what the doctor ordered for walking my pooches on a dark active street. Plenty of bright fabric, which is designed in a medium weight down parka. The cut is roomy enough to layer with a fleece undergarment and that will pretty much take care of most arctic air south of Hudson's Bay. Priced fairly, this one gets my vote.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2012
I love this coat. It's really warm and it can handle lots of wind and keeps you very warm! The hood is great and is just what I wanted. The only downside is that it isn't an "elite" jacket, like it's a little cold around the stitching and such, but that's to be expected. I would give it a 4 star rating, but if you consider the price it is definitely a 5 star coat, because one step up in quality would double the cost. 2 steps up in quality would quadruple the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2015
I was given this jacket for winter work in the Artic circle in Norway. Wore it down to -20C with just a tee shirt under while riding snowmobiles, it was toasty and warm. It folds up small and has held up the past few years, and believe me I've put it through the paces. The is strong and sturdy. Great Jacket
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
Love the jacket. Want something different from other downs. Go for it. I really like the 2 zipper system and packable in inner pocket. Really keeps me warm. Had for more then a month now. I hope it's made in USA. Sadly it's China.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
Minnesota winters can be 'arctic' for days at a time. This is the lightest, warmest most functional jacket I have ever owned. The fit is excellent and the drawstrings in the pockets for the waist are a nice feature. Not to mention, the pockets are tenderly comfortable and warm. The hood is also warm and convenient. A bit of underlayering is still wise in frigid temperatures but this is a product that I highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2012
[[ASIN:B002HMVPAS Marmot Ama Dablam Down Jacket - I bought this jacket for my son, he is very picky. He will be climbing in high altitude at least 19,000Ft and it will be cold. He was thrilled with the jacket and said he would have chosen the same product. It looks great, it is super light and is seriously toasty warm. Hope it will also keep
him warm at 19,000 feet, with some other layers of course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.